top of page

My Solution For Dry Itchy Scalp



I can be going about my life, not even noticing my scalp exists- completely fine and unbothered then, bam! I am painfully aware of its presence. I love the fall season, but that's also when my arch nemesis- dry itchy scalp, creeps up on me. By winter, I am curled up in a ball crying for relief.





Well not this time. I am now armed with the tools and knowledge to combat this annoying problem. If you suffer from dry itchy scalp, as well, I'm sorry. I am going to give my best tips and product recommendations that have worked for me. I am by no means a doctor or a scientist, so I don't necessarily have a good explanation as to why some things have worked and some things haven't. Believe me when I say I have tried everything. From oils to apple cider vinegar to pure aloe vera from the plant itself to making my own oatmeal concoction (don't ask).None of those worked for me- not really. So get ready for the things that actually have worked for me. I'll be honest, there is still the occasional day where I still deal with it, but there has been a vast improvement overall.


No Sulfates

Sulfates are strong detergents. They strip your scalp of their natural oils. While this may be okay for some, for those with dry scalp- it only exacerbates the problem.


Neutrogena T-Sal

Typically I would think of this as a dandruff solution- or psoriasis, etc. But for dry scalp? Nah. This could only make it drier, right? It has salicylic acid, for crying out loud. But wait- this stuff right here worked serious wonders for my DRY itchy scalp! Do I know why? Not really, but I have a theory. When our scalp is dry- it starts getting flaky. Those flakes just sitting on our scalp start to contribute to the itchiness. This stuff exfoliates the scalp of all of those flakes, giving you more of a smooth surface. It is surprising gentle, as well (and yes, it is sulfate free). My curls do not feel stripped at all after using it. To be safe, though, I will always deep condition once a week.




Cowash

Gentle as it may be, you may not want to use the T-Sal every wash (although sometimes I do if I'm especially flaky). You can alternate with a nice moisturizing cowash. Now, I've tried to 'cowash' my hair with any random conditioner. It didn't help me. My scalp didn't like it. There is one particular cowash that has actually had a positive effect- As I Am Coconut Cowash. What can I say? I love the stuff. It leaves my scalp feeling clean but not stripped. Most importantly- it doesn't leave me feeling itchy.




Scalp Brush

This little innovation is a real gem. It's not entirely necessary but I feel it really helps my shampoo get in there and do its thing. You probably already know that scratching your scalp like a madman is not good for your scalp but it is oh so hard to resist. Using one of these bad boys is like scratching your scalp- but safely. It also helps with the exfoliation process.




That's it, you guys. Really. This is what has ACTUALLY helped me. I'm not itchy right now, although you might be after reading so much about itching.



Sorry! I hope this can help some of you, let me know in the comments if you try any of these tips!



Recent Posts

See All

3 Tips to Manage Frizz

Frizz- this has to be the most common curly hair problem. Sure, any hair type can have frizz but curly hair just takes it to another level. I'm sure we all have a photo somewhere where in the moment w

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page